Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

June 12, 2024

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE Washington, D.C. 20590

Dear Secretary Buttigieg:

We write regarding the June 8th catastrophic structural failure at mile marker 12.8 on Wyoming State Highway 22, also known as Teton Pass. The restoration of Teton Pass is critical for thousands of residents in Wyoming and Idaho, local businesses and services, and the region's economy.

We appreciate your recent calls and personal attention to this over the weekend and as we determine next steps to restore the highway. We stress the urgency of restoring travel for more than 7,000 daily drivers between the greater Jackson area of Wyoming and Victor, Idaho. The highway closure jeopardizes livelihoods and impacts a significant portion of the workforce— around 15 percent— that routinely commutes to Jackson from Idaho. The alternative route adds a burdensome additional hour (or more) of travel time each way on roads and through communities not designed to handle the extra traffic. Highway 22 is a critical connector between Idaho and Yellowstone National Park, Grand Teton National Park, Teton County, Jackson Hole and countless outdoor destinations for visitors from around the world to enjoy.

As you are aware, Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon issued a Declaration of Emergency in Executive Order 2024-06. The Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) plans to submit the requisite documentation for emergency relief funds in the immediate future. We ask that emergency relief funds be provided as expeditiously as possible for any eligible short and long-term means of restoring travel on Highway 22.

Thank you again for your ongoing efforts to facilitate restored travel over Teton Pass and alleviate the hardships on those who depend on this vital corridor.

Sincerely,

synthia Mas

Cynthia M. Lummis United States Senator

hu Karrasso

or Barrasso, M.D. United States Senator

Wike Cryoo

Mike Crapo United States Senator

for ascman

Harriet M. Hageman Member of Congress

sch

James E. Risch United States Senator

M.C.

Mike Simpson Member of Congress